Charles Correa Gold Medal – 2023 edition

The Charles Correa Gold Medal is an award initiated in 1998 by Indian architect and urbanist Charles Correa. Through the format of the Gold Medal, the Charles Correa Foundation intends to not only challenge students and schools of architecture to focus on pressing issues, but also to emphasize the role that architects can play in society as “agents of change”.

Looking at the world around us, we believe it is crucial for everyone to understand how to build sustainably and use our resources judiciously. Continuing the theme from the previous year, the Charles Correa Gold Medal focused on thesis projects that addressed climate concerns through architecture design. Charles Correa coined the phrase ‘Form Follows Climate’ and often said “to build in India is to respond to climate”.

This year, the Gold Medal will be awarded along with a cash prize of ₹25,000.

The Registration for the Charles Correa Gold Medal 2023 is closed.


  • The Applicant College of architecture must be located in India and approved by the Council of Architecture (COA).
  • Each entry must be an architectural design thesis project of a bonafide student of the Applicant College of architecture. The student must be the sole author of the project. Group work is not permitted.
  • The Applicant College may send only one entry, and the entry must be the thesis project of a student from the graduating class of the academic year 2022-23.


  • Applicant Colleges must submit their registration form via email by 5.00PM IST, 14 July 2023.
  • The submission for all the deliverables is 12.00 PM (noon) IST, 14 August 2023.
  • The format for deliverables will be provided to the Applicant Colleges upon registration.

For a detailed list of Guidelines, click on the image below.

Panel Discussion:


As a part of the Charles Correa Gold Medal 2023, the Charles Correa Foundation organized a panel discussion on the present and future of the graduating thesis projects at architecture schools in India titled, Architecture Thesis Project – What can they say, what can they do?

The discussion was led by Dr. Kaiwan Mehta, and the panel consisted of Suhasini Ayer, Tanuja Kanvinde, Biju Kuriakose and Bijoy Ramachandran.

You can watch the entire event in the video below.

Visit our FAQs for further queries or email us at

Leave a Reply