The Foundation



The Charles Correa Foundation (CCF) is an initiative of internationally renowned architect and urban planner Charles Correa. Correa started the Foundation to address the fact that many valuable ideas originated by citizens interested in improving their built environment do not see the light of day. There exist few support systems to provide the incubation period ideas need to be developed, and there is no clear path to gain the attention of a governmental or private implementing agency. Therefore, CCF acts as a catalyst for architectural, urban design, planning, and community-based projects that improve the condition of human settlements in India.

We believe in creating meaningful discourse within the community of architects and designers to influence positive change. CCF’s mandate is to identify ideas with potential and process them into tangible, structured projects that can be pitched to the stakeholders and authorities. Over the span of nine years since its inception, the Foundation has worked on projects and ideas that aim to make significant impacts in the public realm. Our work follows an organic process that originates with identifying an issue or concern that has the potential to use a design intervention. Then, we meet with government and non-profit stakeholders, research the extent of the problem, and engage the public in implementing viable solutions for their communities.

Sharing walls with heritage houses in the precinct of Fontainhas, the Foundation studio occupies a small footprint in this historic area. Our office is part of the neighbourhood fabric and the Fontainhas community. Located on street level, CCF always has its doors open to anyone interested in engaging in our work.

All work undertaken by CCF is on a not-for-profit basis. The Charles Correa Foundation is constituted as a duly registered not-for-profit public charitable trust and has been exempted u/s 80G of the Income Tax Act.

Download the Profile of the Foundation here

Aims and Objectives: 
To initiate and encourage architecture, urban design and community projects in the urban public realm.

To work for the betterment of the natural and built habitat, through instituting Fellowships that support, coordinate and direct the projects.

To organise field studies, seminars, lectures, conferences, symposia etc., needed for the above mentioned objectives.

To establish and maintain archives of drawings, designs, maps and literature in the field of architecture and the built environment, and make it accessible for the benefit of the citizens.

To publish journals, reports and other research papers and books with a view to disseminating information on architecture, urban and rural planning, low-cost shelters, habitats, and other environmental and ecological issues.

To provide scholarships, prizes and other awards as support to students of architecture including Exchange Programmes and Academic Chairs for architecture and planning.

To carry on any activity to fulfill the objectives of this Foundation if, and only if, it can be termed as charitable as defined under Income Tax Act 1961 or any statutory modifications thereof and to use the income and the funds of the Foundation for the fulfillment of its objectives.


Shrinivas Vasudev Dempo, Dempo Group  

Monika Correa, Tapestry Weaver
Rahul Deshpande, Civil Engineer
Romi Khosla, Architect
Nasser-Eddin Mukhtar Munjee, Chairman, DCB Bank
Arminio Ribeiro, Architect    
Sanjit Rodrigues, Additional Collector, South Goa
Arti Vakil, Director, Wishing Well

Nondita Correa Mehrotra, Architect

Convener: Tahir Noronha
Administrator: Natalina Gomes
2021-2022 Research Fellows: Adwait Adke, Meghna Maddula, Utsav Chaudhury


2014-2016: Ruturaj Parikh
2011-2013: Arminio Ribeiro

Senior Team Members
2017-2019: Vanessa D’Sa (Convener)
2016-2017: Saritha Sudhakaran (Senior Fellow)
2015-2016: Preethi Sudharsha (Senior Fellow)
2013-2014: Bhavana Hameed (Associate Director)
2012-2013: Vignesh Prasad (Senior Architect and Studio Manager)

Administrative Staff
2017-2020: Freda Coutinho e D’Souza
2012-2017: Suchita Nayak

2020-2021: Parshav Sheth
2019-2020: Tanya Sharma
2018-2019: Anjanaa Devi Srikanth, Abhijeet Karwa
2017-2018: Vaishali Joshi, Malhar Chawada
2016-2017: Arushi Chitrao, Ankush Chandran
2015-2016: Ankit Kumar, Anubhuti Chandna
2014-2015: Nitesh Kumar, Saniya Khan
2013-2014: Anandit Sachdev, Rochelle Santimano, Rhea D’souza, Golda Pereira
2012-2013: Maria Gutierrez Pilar, K.L. Charanya
2011-2012: Saloni Parekh, Kanika Jamdar